Tip of the day: breaking though a plateau

Tip of the day: breaking though a plateau

When you find yourself stuck at a plateau, how do you get past the latest sticking point? Will you try to throw in some cardio, or perhaps run up a nearby hill in a sweatsuit? As boring as my answer is, I think it will give you great results, and your life and metabolism will thank you for it. My tip to plateau smashing simply is: consistency. Yep, just stay the course stick with the eating plan and workouts and the plateau will break. My wife and I recently climbed on the scale one recent morning to see a couple of pounds had dropped off of our prior plateau. It seems as though my body almost struggling to stay at a weight range, and if i show I am more stubborn than my plateau, that its almost like my body admits defeat. Perhaps my body decides one night.. “i cant do it, i have tried and tried to stay at this weight for two weeks but i’m just getting the calories i need.. we are going to have to cut loose some dead weight”.
A secondary tip is to be very honest when logging. My wife and I log everything we eat, good days and cheat meals. We also try to be honest when recording our activities for the day. if you are sticking for more than a couple of weeks you might want to pay attention to your intake and your burn. I do feel it is very important to take in clean calories, AND to make sure you are not going too low. I had to give a buddy of mine a hard time recently because he only ate 500 calories one day and thats too low for ANYONE, much less a 210lb full grown man. if we go too low, we are at risk of slowing down our metabolism, and then its harder to make progress in the future.

About discoveringlean

My blog will document my journey toward fitness at 50 years old.
Image | This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

